The Turtle by Odgen Nash

turtles

Spring–time for the birds and the bees, and the turtles, too, apparently

Since the first time I read poetry by Ogden Nash in the fourth grade, I do believe he has been my favorite poet.  His irreverent style and creative use of words reflect my inner bard.  I introduced him to my children recently.  My youngest was required to memorize a poem for class, and the choices available were deplorable (no rhyme or meter, and boring content).  My kids were most impressed that I could rattle off this ditty after so many years.

 

The Turtle by Odgen Nash:

The turtle lives twixt plated decks

Which practically conceal its sex.

I think it clever of the turtle

In such a fix to be so fertile.

Leave a Reply

