Greek Cucumber & Hummus Appetizer

I love hummus.  At the first Christmas party I attended with my co-workers back in 2005 (yikes! has it really been that long?), I brought these appetizers hoping to impress them.  Unfortunately, not everyone is a fan of hummus.  Plus, after sitting a while, the cucumbers began to sweat and the hummus slid right off.  Well, it didn’t impress them, but it was memorable, so I’ve got that going for me.  I love my co-workers!

My famous (or should that be infamous) hummus appetizer.

My famous (or should that be infamous) hummus appetizer.

Chickpeas, drained & rinsed – 1 15oz can
Lemon Juice –  3 TBS
Garlic cloves, chopped –  1
Tahini  – 3 TBS
Olive Oil –  2 TBS
Cumin  – 1 tsp
Salt – to taste
Cucumber, large seedless – 1
Yogurt, plain or Greek – 1/4 cup
Sesame Seeds, toasted – 2 TBS

 

Toss the chickpeas, garlic, lemon juice,
tahini, olive oil, cumin, salt and 2 TBS water
in a food processor. Process until
the mixture is smooth, scraping down
the sides with a spatula. Wash cucumber
and cut off ends so that it is about the same diameter. Run a peeler down the sides of the cucumber, skipping spaces to create a striped pattern. Slice the cucumber into 1/4 inch slices; pat dry with a paper towel. Spoon a small amount of hummus onto each cucumber slice, flattening the hummus slightly.  Place a smaller amount of yogurt on top of the hummus. Then sprinkle the whole thing with toasted sesame seeds. Plate & serve immediately.

One thought on “Greek Cucumber & Hummus Appetizer

Leave a Reply

